Skip to main content
Students engaged in distance learning

Distance Education

CALS offers several degree and certificate programs in convenient online formats.

The increasing demand for highly trained professionals and leaders in agricultural and life sciences can be met with enhanced training and education. However, many practicing professionals and others are place-bound and unable to access traditional on-campus educational opportunities.

Today’s evolving industry calls for complex technical information and knowledge, making continuous professional development critical for new employees and current professionals.

To learn more, download the Distance Education Strategic Plan:

Distance Education Programs

The College of Agriculture and Life Sciences (CALS) at NC State University offers distance graduate degrees, graduate certificates and distance undergraduate certificates, with courses delivered using a variety of distance education formats. Detailed descriptions of the degree and certificate programs are available through the 18 CALS departments. View all of the CALS distance offerings at the dropdowns below: 

Undergraduate Programs

DegreeProgram NameDUPCourse Link
BSAgricultural ScienceTBDTBD
DegreeCertificate NameProgram ContactWebsite
CTAAssociate Certificate in Agribusiness Management Dr. John Russ
russ@ncsu.edu
Link
Post Baccalaureate Certificate in Agricultural Business ManagementDr. John Russ
russ@ncsu.edu
Link
CTUUndergraduate Certificate in Agricultural Business ManagementDr. John Russ
russ@ncsu.edu
Link
CTUUndergraduate Certificate in Agricultural LeadershipDr. Jackie Bruce
jabruce2@ncsu.edu
Link
CTUUndergraduate Certificate in Animal NutritionDr. Shannon Pratt Phillips
sepratt2@ncsu.edu
Link
CTUUndergraduate Certificate in Crop ScienceDr. David Crouse
crouse@ncsu.edu
Link
CTUUndergraduate Certificate in Feed MillingDr. Adam Fahrenholz
​​Adam_Fahrenholz@ncsu.edu
Link
CTUUndergraduate Certificate in Food Safety & Quality ManagementDr. Clint Stevenson
cdsteve3@ncsu.edu
Link
CTUUndergraduate Certificate in Fundamentals of EntomologyDr. Clyde Sorenson 
​​sorenson@ncsu.edu
Link
CTUUndergraduate Certificate in General HorticultureMr. Issac Lewis
ijlewis@ncsu.edu
Link
CTUUndergraduate Certificate in Plant Pests, Pathogens, and PeopleDr. David Shew
shew@ncsu.edu 
 
Dr. Clyde Sorenson
sorenson@ncsu.edu
Link
CTUUndergraduate Certificate in Regulatory Science in AgricultureDr. Keith Edmisten
kledmist@ncsu.edu
Link
CTUUndergraduate Certificate in Soil ScienceDr. David Crouse
crouse@ncsu.edu
Link
DegreeDegree NameDGPWebsite
MRMaster of Agricultural and Extension EducationDr. Joseph Donaldson
joseph_donaldson@ncsu.edu
Link
MRMaster of Animal ScienceDr. Shannon Pratt Phillips
sepratt2@ncsu.edu
Link
MRMaster of Biological and Agricultural EngineeringDr. John Classen
classen@ncsu.edu
Link
MRMaster of Horticultural ScienceDr. Gina Fernandez
gina_fernandez@ncsu.edu
Link
MRMaster of NutritionDr. Suzie Goodell
suzie_goodell@ncsu.edu
Link
MRMaster of Soil ScienceDr. Mike Mullen
mdmullen@ncsu.edu
Link
MRMaster of Youth, Family and Community SciencesDr. Annie Hardison-Moody
amhardis@ncsu.edu
Link
MSMaster of Science in Youth, Family and Community SciencesDr. Annie Hardison-Moody
amhardis@ncsu.edu 
Link
CertificateCerfiticate NameProgram ContactWebsite
Licensure in Education for Agricultural ProfessionalsDr. Travis Park
tdpark@ncsu.edu
Link
CTGGraduate Certificate in Agricultural and Extension EducationDr. Joseph Donaldson
joseph_donaldson@ncsu.edu
Link
CTGGraduate Certificate in Agriculture Data ScienceDr. Daniela Jones
dsjones5@ncsu.edu
Link
CTGGraduate Certificate in Family Life Education and CoachingJessica Williams 
jmwill24@ncsu.edu
Link
CTGGraduate Certificate in Feed ScienceNatasha Dillion
natasha_dillon@ncsu.edu 

Dr. Adam Fahrenholz
​​Adam_Fahrenholz@ncsu.edu 

Dr. Robert Beckstead
rbbeckst@ncsu.edu
Link
CTGGraduate Certificate in Horticultural ScienceDr. Helen Kraus
helen_kraus@ncsu.edu
Link
CTGGraduate Certificate in Leadership and Volunteer ManagementJessica Williams
jmwill24@ncsu.edu
Link
CTGGraduate Certificate in Regulatory Science in AgricultureDr. Keith Edmisten
kledmist@ncsu.edu
Link
CTGGraduate Certificate in Watershed Assessment and RestorationDr. John Classen
classen@ncsu.edu
Link
CTGGraduate Certificate in Youth Development and LeadershipJessica Williams
jmwill24@ncsu.edu
Link

Distance Education Courses

There are three ways to access and register for distance education courses in CALS:

  1. Most courses are scheduled through Distance Education and Learning Technology Applications (DELTA). Available distance education courses, tuition rates, registration information, and other student support information are provided.
  2. Several distance education courses are also scheduled through Registration & Records, similar to face-to-face courses. For example, if you want to enroll in BIO181 (Fall 2011), enter the “Schedule of Courses” and scroll down till you find those BIO181 sections where “Distance Education-Internet” is listed under “Room”.  These are the same courses listed under DELTA, however, tuition for these courses is different and can be found at http://www.fis.ncsu.edu/cashier/tuition/.
  3. If enrolled in an AG*IDEA degree or certificate program, courses are available through CALS or cooperating Universities. Tuition information is also provided.

Other Distance Education Pathways

CALS partners with the community to meet the needs of agricultural jobs in the region and beyond. Online courses are available to community college students, Extension agents and staff, and the general public.

Student typing on a laptop
Photo of student studying