Skip to main content

Klaenhammer honored with Harris Award

Contact: Dr. Todd Klaenhammer, 919-515-2972 or

Dr. Todd Klaenhammer, university distinguished professor and William Neal Reynolds professor of food, bioprocessing and nutrition sciences, is the 2012 recipient of the Harris Award for Excellence in Food Science and Technology given by the Ohio State University Department of Food Science and Technology.

The award is given annually to recognize excellence in and contributions to the discipline of food science. The selection committee seeks to recognize the accomplishments of an outstanding individual who made substantial contributions to the advancement of food science or technology.

Klaenhammer will accept the award and be the keynote speaker at the Ohio Valley Institute of Food Technologists Symposium in early March on the Ohio State University campus in Columbus, Ohio.

Klaenhammer is a fellow in the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Academy of Microbiology, the Institute of Food Technologists and the American Dairy Science Association. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and a recipient of the O. Max Gardner Award and the Holladay Medal. In 2010, the International Dairy Federation awarded him the Elli Metchnikoff award for research in biotechnology.

The Harris award was established in 2004 and honors Dr. Ronald D. Harris, an adjunct professor in the Department of Food Science and Technology at Ohio State University and former executive vice president for research and development at Nabisco.

— Dave Caldwell, 919-513-3127 or

Leave a Response