Skip to main content

ESP recognizes Cooperative Extension employees

N.C. Cooperative Extension employees were recognized during the annual meeting of Epsilon Sigma Phi’s Xi Chapter held in December. ESP is a professional development society for Cooperative Extension employees.

Those receiving awards are listed by award title, name and position:

  • Early Career Award, Kyleen Burgess, area information management Extension agent, based in Hertford
  • Mid-Career Award, Dr. Lucy Bradley, urban horticulture Extension specialist, Horticultural Science Department
  • Visionary Leadership Award, Dr. Lisa Guion, professor and diversity coordinator for the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
  • Distinguished Service Award, Christine Barrier, Cabarrus County Extension administrative assistant
  • Meritorious Support Award, Diane Lynch, Wayne County Extension secretary
  • Meritorious Support Award, Rick Seagroves, crop science research specialist, Weed Control Lab, Crop Science Department
  • Friend of Extension Award, JoAnna Foegeding, research analyst, Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences Department
  • Bernadette Watts Professional Development Scholarship winner, Christine Smith, Wayne County family and consumer sciences Extension agent
  • State Team Award, Northeast Ag Expo and Precision Ag Field Day team
    Team members:
    Al Wood, Pasquotank County; Tommy Grandy, Currituck County; Lewis Smith, Perquimans County; Dr. Ron Heiniger, Crop Science Department, based in Plymouth; Mark Powell, Camden County; Paul Smith, Gates County; Heather Lifsey, NCDA&CS; Dr. Carl Crozier, Soil Science Department, based in Plymouth

The following county Extension staffs were recognized with County Performance Awards:

  • Chatham County Extension
  • Gates County Extension
  • Wayne County Extension
  • Yadkin County Extension

-Written by Natalie Hampton, 919.513.3128 or