Congratulations to FBNS Award Winners

female faculty member in lab

Congratulations to the faculty members and students from the NC State Department of Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences for recent honors.

At the International Annual Meeting of the Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) June 25-28 in Las Vegas, Mary Anne Drake was inducted as an IFT Fellow and the Food Science Club won the IFT Student Association Award for Outstanding Chapter for National Engagement.

Several students were recognized by IFT and Phi Tau Sigma as division competition winners:

  • Kelsey Kanyuck won second place in the food chemistry division, oral competition
  • Will Harwood won first place sensory and consumer science division, oral competition
  • Angelina Schiano won second place in the dairy foods division, oral competition
  • Mutian (Tristan) Zhang won second place dairy foods, poster competition

Also, Suzie Goodell was recognized as an award winner in the 2017 U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Excellence in College and University Teaching in the Food and Agricultural Sciences Program.