Skip to main content
Awards and Honors

Bob Franks, Frank Louws Accepted to the National Food Systems Leadership Institute

NC State University sign

Bob Franks, head of the Department of Plant and Microbial Biology, and Frank Louws, head of the Department of Horticultural Science, were accepted for the Fall 2022 Food Systems Leadership Institute (FSLI), an executive leadership development program for academia, industry and government. 

The FSLI enhances personal and professional development by emphasizing leadership competencies, skills for organizational change, and a broad, interdisciplinary perspective of food systems. The FSLI experience prepares scholars for upper-level leadership roles in food system programs and to assume broader leadership responsibilities within their organizations. 

During the FSLI program, Franks and Louws will work with expert instructors, leadership development coaches and an upper-level mentor to help increase their leadership abilities. They will meet with leaders of universities, political leaders, industry leaders and others who have advanced to the highest levels of leadership. Leadership theory is combined with practical experience, often in the context of food systems and higher education.

The first year of the FSLI two-year program includes intensive executive education-style residential learning sessions at three university locations. Scholars perform assessments to increase their self-awareness of their leadership style, and the results are used to develop and implement a personal development plan prepared with the assistance of a professional coach. Interactive distance learning is used between residential sessions. During their second year, participants will apply what they have learned to develop and carry out an individual leadership project.

FSLI is dedicated to advancing and strengthening food systems by preparing a set of new leaders with the skills and knowledge necessary to create and reinvent the food systems of the future. It is a program of the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU), with the initial funding provided by the W.K. Kellogg Foundation. North Carolina State University is the host site, with The Ohio State University and California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo being residential sites responsible for the implementation of the program.