NCDA&CS Hosts the 2020 Youth Market Turkey Show, Keeps Safety in Mind

It’s been a difficult year, full of changes and unexpected challenges. Still, some things are continuing, though they don’t always look quite how we’re all used to seeing them. For example, the North Carolina State Fair was canceled, but the youth livestock shows, including the popular Youth Market Turkey Show, went on.

In the Lil Gobblers age bracket (5-8 year olds), 46 participants showed their turkeys. Barrett Devine of Rowan County won Grand Champion Lil Gobbler and Gabriella Baldwin of Buncombe County won Reserve Champion Lil Gobbler. Four participants showed their turkeys in a noncompetitive class.

There were 135 Juniors (9-13 years of age) and Seniors (14-18 years of age) competing for Grand Champion and Reserve Grand Champion honors.

For perhaps the first time in YMTS history, two sisters from Randolph County won Grand Champion and Reserve Grand Champion.  Cassidy Sharpe’s 44-pound turkey won Grand Champion and Brooklyn Sharpe’s 39-pound bird took Reserve Grand Champion.  Cassidy’s Grand Champion turkey won her a $1,500 check from Talley Farms. Her sister Brooklyn’s turkey won Brooklyn $1,000 from Farm Bureau Insurance and Talley Farms.

The show was different this year, but we especially want to thank Neil Bowman, Jimmy Collie and their team at the North Carolina Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services (NCDA&CS) for conducting this year’s show.

Thanks also go to the many sponsors who gave financial contributions in order to continue to offer this program. Finally, thank you to Butterball for donating the poults used in this program.

Explore Poultry Youth Programs

2020 YMTS Class Winners

Lil’ Gobbler (5-8 years old)
Name Age Bracket Class # County
Cody Formisani Lil Gobbler Class 1 Johnston
Barrett Devine Lil Gobbler Class 2 Rowan
Emmy Kernodle Lil Gobbler Class 3 Alamance
Gabriella Baldwin Lil Gobbler Class 4 Buncombe
Carson Walker Lil Gobbler Class 5 Randolph
Eric Allman Lil Gobbler Class 6 Randolph
Non-competitive Class
Fortino Castillo Jr Class 7 Rockingham
Competitive Classes (Jr: 9-13 and Sr: 14-18 years old)
Eyan Wilson-Wise Jr Class 8 Randolph
Alexis Soles Sr Class 9 Edgecombe
Hattie Jo Powell Jr Class 10 Johnston
Joleen Windsor Jr Class 11 Alamance
Talton Correll Jr Class 12 Rowan
Houston Walker Jr Class 13 Randolph
Cassidy Sharpe Sr Class 14 Randolph
Abigail Shaeffer Jr Class 15 Granville
Johanna Slootweg Jr Class 16 Wake
Aiden Kernodle Sr Class 17 Alamance
Caroline Scarlett Jr Class 18 Randolph
Wilder Stovall Jr Class 19 Wake
Caitlin Proctor Sr Class 20 Wilson
Kendall Proctor Sr Class 21 Wilson
Jacob Meads Jr Class 22 Pasquotank
Brooklyn Sharpe Sr Class 23 Randolph