Microbiology Faculty and Staff

Dr. Rodolphe Barrangou
CRISPR-Cas immune systems biology
Department of Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences
rbarran@ncsu.edu
Dr. Ashley Beck
Microbial metabolic modeling, industry and environmental systems
Department of Biological & Agricultural Engineering
aebeck@ncsu.edu
Dr. Chase Beisel
RNA synthetic biology
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
cbeisel@ncsu.edu
Dr. Fred Breidt
Microbial ecology of food products
Department of Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences
breidt@ncsu.edu
Dr. Dennis Brown
Sindbis virus structure
Department of Molecular and Structural Biochemistry
dennis_brown@ncsu.edu
Dr. James Brown
RNA biology; microbial evolution
Department of Biological Sciences
james_brown@ncsu.edu
Not taking new graduate students
Dr. Jose Bruno-Barcena
Lactic acid bacteria; physiology, genetics and bioprocessing
Department of Plant and Microbial Biology
jose_bruno-barcena@ncsu.edu
Dr. Nicholas Bulcher
Systems biology, oscillators and regulatory clocks
College of Veterinary Medicine
nebuchle@ncsu.edu
Dr. Benjamin Callahan
Bioinformatics and evolution of microbial communities
Department of Population Health & Pathobiology
bcallah@ncsu.edu
Dr. Wei-Chen Chang
Enzyme catalyzed transformation and natural products
Department of Chemistry
wchang6@ncsu.edu
Dr. Mari Chinn
Biofuels; microbial and enzymatic bioprocessing
Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering
mari_chinn@ncsu.edu
Dr. Nathan Crook
Engineered microbial communities and synthetic biology
Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
nccrook@ncsu.edu
Dr. Marc A. Cubeta
Fungal disease ecology, genetics and population biology
Department of Plant Pathology
marc_cubeta@ncsu.edu
Dr. Francis de los Reyes
Microbial ecology and environmental engineering
Department of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
fldelosr@eos.ncsu.edu
Dr. Robert Dunn
Ecology and evolution
Department of Biological Sciences
rrdunn@ncsu.edu
Dr. Johanna Elfenbein
Salmonella enterica; genetics, colonization and disease
Department of Clinical Sciences
jrelfenb@ncsu.edu
Dr. Michael C. Flickinger
Cellular biocomposite materials, microbial C1 metabolism
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
michael_flickinger@ncsu.edu
Dr. Jonathan E. Fogle
Immunology, immunodeficiency and flow cytometry
Department of Population Health and Pathobiology
jefogle@ncsu.edu
Dr. Frederick J. Fuller
Molecular animal virology
College of Veterinary Medicine
fred_fuller@ncsu.edu
Not taking new graduate students
Dr. Reza A. Ghiladi
Light-activated antimicrobial materials
Department of Chemistry
reza_ghiladi@ncsu.edu
Dr. Carlos Goller
Metagenomics of bacterial communities; biofilms; anti-infectives
Biotechnology Program
ccgoller@ncsu.edu
Dr. Amy Grunden
Biotechnological applications of extremophiles
Department of Plant and Microbial Biology
amy_grunden@ncsu.edu
Dr. Paul Hamilton
Director of Microbial Biotechnology program; phage lysins; peptide aptamers
Department of Plant and Microbial Biology
paul_hamilton@ncsu.edu
Dr. Hosni Hassan
Oxidative stress; Salmonella vaccine systems
Prestage Department of Poultry Science
hosni_hassan@ncsu.edu
Not taking new graduate students
Dr. Christine Hawkes
Plant-microbe interactions and community ecology
Department of Plant and Microbial Biology
chawkes@ncsu.edu
Dr. Michael Hyman
Bioremediation; microbial co-metabolism
Department of Plant and Microbial Biology
michael_hyman@ncsu.edu
Dr. Shuijin Hu
Microbial mediated plant and ecosystem responses to global change
Department of Entomology and Plant Pathology
shuijin_hu@ncsu.edu
Dr. Megan Jacob
Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli; detection and epidimiology
Department of Population Health and Pathobiology
megan_jacob@ncsu.edu
Dr. Lee-Ann Jaykus
Food safety
Department of Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences
leeann_jaykus@ncsu.edu
Dr. Sophia Kathariou
Bacterial foodborne pathogens
Department of Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences
skathar@unity.ncsu.edu
Dr. Robert M. Kelly
Thermophilic enzymes
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
rmkelly@eos.ncsu.edu
Dr. Todd Klaenhammer
Molecular biology of lactic acid Bacteria
Department of Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences
klaenhammer@ncsu.edu
Not taking new graduate students
Dr. Manuel Kleiner
Symbioses and microbiomes; metagenomics and metaproteomics
Department of Plant and Microbial Biology
mkleine@ncsu.edu
Dr. Cristina Lanzas
Epidemiology of infectious diseases; enteric and antimicrobial resistant pathogens
Department of Population Health and Pathobiology
clanzas@ncsu.edu
Dr. Scott Laster
Cellular immunology
Department of Biological Sciences
scott_laster@ncsu.edu
Dr. Hsiao-Ching Liu
Department of Animal Science
hc_liu@ncsu.edu
Dr. John Mackenzie
Coordinator, Center for Electron Microscopy; digital imaging
Department of Molecular and Structural Biochemistry
john_mackenzie@ncsu.edu
Dr. Christian Melander
Novel anti-infective, anti-biofilm strategies
Department of Chemistry
ccmeland@ncsu.edu
Dr. Eric S. Miller
Bacteriophage genomics; microbial genetics; biotechnology
Department of Plant and Microbial Biology
eric_miller@ncsu.edu
Dr. Jonathan Olson
Microbial physiology/pathogenesis; Campylobacter
Department of Biological Sciences
jonathan_olson@ncsu.edu
Dr. Ryan Paerl
Marine/aquatic microbial ecology and physiology
Department of Marine, Earth, & Atmospheric Sciences
rpaerl@ncsu.edu
Dr. Ilenys M. Perez-Diaz
Microbiology for quality, safety, and value of vegetable products
Department of Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences
idiazmu@ncsu.edu
Dr. Tim Petty
Virology
Department of Biological Sciences
tim_petty@ncsu.edu
Not taking new graduate students
Dr. Joshua Pierce
Small molecule probes to identify antimicrobial targets and lead molecules for therapeutics
Department of Chemistry
jgpierce@ncsu.edu
Dr. Frank Scholle
Viral pathogenesis; West Nile virus
Department of Biological Sciences
frank_scholle@ncsu.edu
Dr. Barbara Sherry
Viral myocarditis and innate immunity
College of Veterinary Medicine
barbara_sherry@ncsu.edu
Dr. Michael Sikes
Developmental immunology
Department of Biological Sciences
mike_sikes@ncsu.edu
Dr. Siddhartha Thakur
Antibiotic resistance in the environment
Department of Population Health and Pathobiology
sthakur@ncsu.edu
Dr. Casey Theriot
Clostridium difficile physiology, pathogenesis; microbiome interactions
Department of Population Health and Pathobiology
cmtherio@ncsu.edu
Dr. Gavin Williams
Synthetic biology for the synthesis, diversification and discovery of natural products for drug development
Department of Chemistry
gjwillia@ncsu.edu
Dr. Jeffrey A. Yoder
Innate immunity; immunogenetics; zebrafish immunology
Department of Molecular Biomedical Sciences
jeff_yoder@ncsu.edu

Emeritus Professors

Dr. Paul Bishop
Alternative nitrogen fixation
paul_bishop@ncsu.edu
Dr. Walter Dobrogosz
Gastrointestinal microbiology
walter_dobrogosz@ncsu.edu
Dr. Gerald Elkan
Symbiotic nitrogen fization
gerald_elkan@ncsu.edu
Dr. Gerry Luginbuhl
Bordetella avium
gerry_luginbuhl@ncsu.edu
Dr. Paul E. Orndorff
Genetics of virulence in bacteria
College of Veterinary Medicine
paul_orndorff@ncsu.edu
Dr. Leo W. Parks
Yeast physiology; ergosterol
leo_parks@ncsu.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Our adjunct faculty members have primary employment with an institution other than NC State but who, through their scholarly activities, are affiliated with the microbiology graduate programs. Adjunct faculty members supervise dissertation research of microbiology Ph.D. students as a co-chair with an NC State MGP faculty member.

Dr. Bernard Adkins Jr.
Fuji Films/Diosynth Biotechnology
bernie.adkins@fujifilmdb.com
Dr. Jason Caplan
EnSolve BioSystems
jcaplan@ensolve.com
Dr. Warren Casey
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
warren.casey@nih.gov
Dr. James Ligon
Bayer Crop Science
jim.ligon@bayercropscience.com
Dr. Scott Shore
Shore Biotechnology
scott@shorebiotech.com
Dr. E. Grover Smith
Pathology, Wake Medical Hosptial
gsmith@wakemed.org
Dr. Daniel (Niels) van der Lelie
Phytoremediation; Endophytic bacteia
Research Triangle Institute, Intl.
dlelied@rti.org

Microbiology Staff

Dwayne Barnes
Graduate Services Coordinator
dabarnes@ncsu.edu
Meaghan Nappo
MMB Program Coordinator
mknappo@ncsu.edu