Skip to main content

faculty awards

Natalie Nelson

May 3, 2021

NC State Researcher Wins NSF Award to Study Impacts of ‘Sunny-Day Flooding’

After a visit with her family in St. Petersburg, Florida, Natalie Nelson was curious to see how flooding affects water quality, and this curiosity led to a five-year National Science Foundation research grant. 

Dec 28, 2020

Faculty Focus: Award-winning Advisor Chad Jordan

As one former student wrote, “Whether he was writing recommendation letters, encouraging me to apply for awards, or giving me advice for the future, the role Dr. Jordan played in shaping my career is immeasurable." 

NC State belltower on a sunny day

Apr 29, 2019

Patterson and Ristaino Receive Awards for International Impact

Congratulation to CALS faculty members Bob Patterson and Jean Ristaino, who were honored recently at NC State’s annual Global Engagement Exposition. 

Jean Ristaino in her NC State lab.

Jul 7, 2017

Faculty Focus: Jean Ristaino Wins Fulbright Award

Jean Ristaino’s passion for ensuring food security for a fast-growing world population has taken her around the world to help other scientists and students gain skills in identifying and tracking new and re-emerging plant diseases. Her next stop: Italy. 

three trophies

May 10, 2016

Plant pathologists honored

Faculty members in CALS’ Department of Plant Pathology win awards for scientific contributions. 

Dr. LeeAnn Jaykus at seafood market.

Apr 20, 2016

Jaykus honored for graduate mentoring

Dr. Lee-Ann Jaykus of the Department of Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences was among four senior NC State University faculty members recognized this week by the Graduate School for being outstanding mentors for graduate students. 

Foegeding headshot

Apr 18, 2016

Foegeding wins one of food science’s highest honors

Dr. Allen Foegeding recently won the Nicolas Appert Award, the highest award given by the Institute of Food Technologists, or IFT. 

Mar 30, 2016

Brown honored for developing young agricultural leaders

Professor Blake Brown, director of the Agricultural Leadership Development Program, has been recognized as one of 100 leaders in the United States who are changing rural communities and agriculture for the better. 

Mar 24, 2016

Emeritus professor recognized

Dr. Eugene Eisen is honored by the Department of Animal Science as he delivers a seminar on his exemplary career in animal breeding and genetics. 

Mar 23, 2016

Barrangou wins esteemed medical research prize

Rodolphe Barrangou, an NC State professor and pioneer of the discovery of the adaptive bacterial immune system known as CRISPR, has been named a recipient of the 2016 Canada Gairdner International Award, one of the world’s most esteemed medical research prizes.