N.C. 4-H Hall of Fame honors 2011 inductees

The North Carolina 4-H Hall of Fame recently named to its membership eleven individuals who have played critical roles in the development of the contemporary 4-H program in the state.

The 2011 inductees are James W. Clark Jr., Michael A. Davis and Judy Groff, all of Wake County; Emily Ballinger, Guilford County; Carolyn Barnes, Vance County; Lucille Mayes Carter, Iredell County; Frank Meador, Rockingham County; Howard F. Scott, Wayne County; Diane Howell Sturges, Halifax County; and Dennis Vick and Teresa Vick, Wilson County. 

They were recognized in July during the state 4-H Congress in Raleigh.

The North Carolina 4-H Hall of Fame, managed by the North Carolina 4-H Alumni and Friends Association, honors people who have made a significant impact on the North Carolina 4-H Program. 

The 4-H program is the youth education program of North Carolina Cooperative Extension, based at North Carolina State and North Carolina A&T State universities. More than 218,000 young people between the ages of 5 and 19 participate in North Carolina 4-H activities each year with the help of 21,400 adult and youth volunteers.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.