CALS students among N.C. State's latest Goldwater Scholars and NSF Fellows

Seven College of Agriculture and Life Sciences students are among those from N.C. State University recently selected as 2012 Goldwater Scholars and as National Science Foundation Fellows.

The Goldwater Scholarship is awarded to sophomores or juniors who have excellent academic records and demonstrated interest in and potential for careers in mathematics, the natural sciences or engineering. All four of N.C. State’s nominees this year have been selected to receive the scholarship, including two CALS students, Ian Thomas Hill, a biochemistry and polymer & color chemistry double major, and Brinda Monian, a biochemistry and chemical engineering double major. N.C. State’s other awardees are Richard Deans, chemistry, and Heidi Klumpe, chemical engineering and English.

The National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowship Program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees at accredited U.S. institutions. In a March 30 announcement of the results of the its latest Graduate Research Fellowship competition, NSF said there are 20 new Fellows who are either current N.C. State seniors or graduate students, or for whom N.C. State was their institution of baccalaureate origin.

CALS students receiving fellowships include current seniors Robert San Miguel, plant biology major, and Molly Matty, chemistry major, also pursuing a minor in genetics from CALS; and current graduate students Angela Bucci, Ph.D. student in entomology, and Tiffany Garbutt, Ph.D. student in genetics. Another newly named NSF Fellow affiliated with CALS is Tyler Barry, a 2009 N.C. State graduate in zoology and religious studies, who is now in a graduate program at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities. – Terri Leith

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.