CALS celebrates outstanding faculty, students at year-end awards ceremony

Members of the CALS faculty and student body gathered in Riddick Atrium on April 24 to celebrate a year of achievement. Awards were given for outstanding teaching and advising, as well as student success.

Dr. Sam Pardue, associate dean and director of Academic Programs, emceed the ceremony, which also included remarks by Bryce Lane, Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor of Horticultural Science.

Following are the College’s 2013-2014 outstanding faculty and graduate student award winners:

Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching
James A. Knopp, Biochemistry, CALS Nominee

Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor Award
Dennis J. Werner, Horticultural Science, NC State Recipient
Jon M. Stucky, Plant and Microbial Biology

Gertrude Cox Award
Shannon Pratt Phillips, Animal Science

CALS Outstanding Teacher Award and NCSU Academy of Outstanding Teachers
David A. Crouse, Soil Science
Jim L. Flowers, Agricultural and Extension Education
Brian E. Jackson, Horticultural Science

CALS Outstanding Faculty Adviser
Shweta Trivedi, Animal Science

National Awards Program for Excellence in College and University Teaching in the Food and Agricultural Sciences
David W.W. Jones, Agricultural and Extension Education
New Teacher National Winner, 2013

Michelle S. Schroeder-Moreno, Crop Science
CALS Outstanding Teacher Award Nominee, 2013

Outstanding Graduate Instructor
Dr. Gary E. Moore, Agricultural and Extension Education

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistants
Rachel Atwell, Crop Science
Kestrel McCorkle, Plant Pathology

2013 North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture (NACTA) Teacher Fellow Awards
G. Keith Harris, Food, Bioprocessing, and Nutrition Sciences
Robert Lee Ivy, Horticultural Science
K.S.U. (Jay) Jayaratne, Agricultural and Extension Education
Wendy Warner, Agricultural and Extension Education

2013 NACTA Graduate Student Awards
Jared Barnes, Horticultural Science
Alicain Carlson, Horticultural Science
William T. Farmer, Animal Science
Joy M. Marshall, Agricultural and Extension Education

2014 NACTA Teaching Award of Merit
Bryce Lane, Horticultural Science

2014 NACTA Graduate Student Teaching Award of Merit
Stephanie Riche, Agricultural and Resource Economics

Outstanding undergraduate students also were recognized in the following categories: CALS Honors Program medals, Undergraduate Research Symposium winners and mentors, and the Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award.

– S. Stanard


  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.