Jaykus Named to National Academies Committee

Lee-Ann Jaykus

Lee-Ann Jaykus, William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor in the Department of Food, Bioprocessing, and Nutrition Sciences, has been named by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine to the executive committee of ScienceBreakthroughs 2030, an initiative that will identify the most compelling scientific opportunities in food and agriculture in the next decade and beyond.

According to the press release, Science Breakthroughs 2030 will respond to the numerous reports issued by government and non-governmental organizations on the relationship of the food and agricultural system to public health, national security, the economy, and the environment. Such reports emphasize the need to dramatically and sustainably increase food production worldwide to feed a growing global population. Tapping the ingenuity and knowledge of the American research community, Science Breakthroughs 2030 will produce a blueprint for research directions to address key issues in food and agriculture.

Learn more about ScienceBreakthroughs 2030 here