Michelle Jewell Elected President of SCONC

Michelle Jewell

The Science Communicators of North Carolina (SCONC) have a new president, Applied Ecology’s resident science communicator, Michelle Jewell! The SCONC board members promoted Michelle earlier this spring via a unanimous vote.

“I am honored and humbled to take on this leadership position within an organization I have greatly enjoyed as a member and board member,” says Jewell. “SCONC is everything I love about the field of science communication. It is a small yet mighty group of dedicated communicators whose reputation precedes itself, much like our mascot – the skunk.”

SCONC has a rich history of supporting science communication professionals in the Triangle. Founded in 2007, SCONC has held countless professional workshops, hosted the National Association of Science Writers’ conference, and has awarded thousands of dollars in awards and scholarships. Read more about its history here

Dr. Marla Broadfoot held the presidency from 2016–2022 and will remain on the board as president emerita. During her tenure, Marla transformed SCONC from an informal networking group to a dues-paying organization with member benefits like travel grants and an annual science communication contest, the SCONCies. 

“I am thrilled that Michelle is taking over the presidency,” says Marla/Broadfoot.  “She is a natural leader, a talented science communicator, and perhaps most importantly, always quick with a skunk pun. I am excited to see where she will take SCONC next.”

“I will not even attempt to fill the shoes that Marla leaves behind, but I will do my best to maintain her momentum,” says Jewell. “I am excited to give back to the supportive, creative, and diverse community of SCONC!”

Congratulations, Michelle!

Michelle’s plug: Anyone interested in science communication news and events can sign up for the SCONC newsletter. Those within the profession and/or scicomm students can become members and receive member-exclusive benefits (like travel grants and professional development courses) for a low annual membership fee ($25 for professionals, $15 for students).

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.