CALS Alumni and Friends Society Advisory Board

2020 Meeting Schedule

Thursday, February 20, 2020 – Park Alumni Center

Board Members

Name Company Title Graduation Board Role
Mr. William B. Upchurch Jr. NC Tobacco Trust Fund Commission Executive Director Class of ’91 President
Mr. Chad Benton BASF Corporation Scientist III Class of ’05 Vice President
Mrs. Leslie B. Friedrich Syngenta Crop Protection Retired Class of ’87 Secretary/Treasurer
Mr. George Simpson Yara North America, Inc. Regional Manager Class of ’92 Immediate Past President
Mr. Jason Barbour Bearded Cob Farms & Barbour Farms Owner/Operator and Partner Class of ’12 Member
Dr. Travis Burke NC State Administration – Extension Emeritus Class of ’82, ’87, ’02 Member
Mr. Jason Burton Jason P. Burton, Attorney at Law Attorney Class of ’98, ’02 Member
Ms. Lakean Byrd South Johnston High School Agriculture Education Teacher Class of ’13 Member
Mrs. Ashley Collins Agriculture Future of America Director of Collegiate Relations Class of ’05 Member
Mr. Jeff Jennings Class of ’87 Member
Mr. Chris Hege Coastal Agro Business Seed and Technology Manager Class of ’97 Member
Mr. Jacob Traverse Triangle Global Health Consortium Executive Director Class of ’01, ’05 Member
Dr. Bonnie James Wal-Mart Foundation Pharmacist Class of ’09, ’13 Member
Mrs. Lendy Johnson NC Farm Bureau Foundation, Inc. Director of Organization Class of ’06, ’11 Member
Mr. David Parrish NC Cotton Producers Association CEO Class of ’02 Member
Mr. George Scott Universal Leaf Foundation Vice President Class of ’98, ’00 Member
Mrs. Gabby Seckler Netsertive Client Success Coordinator Class of ’15 Member
Mrs. Sharon Tyson Tyson Family Farms Farm Co-Manager Class of ’92 Member
Mr. Bryant Spivey North Carolina State University County Extension Director Class of ’93, ’01 NCCES Representative
Mr. Gary Cartwright North Carolina State University Dairy Enterprise Director Class of ’79 Faculty Advisor – Agriculture
TBD Faculty Advisor – Life Sciences
Ms. Karin Shank North Carolina Biotechnology Center Senior Research Analyst Class of ’00 NC Biotechnology Center Representative
Mrs. Beth Farrell North Carolina Department of Agriculture Agriculture Program Specialist Class of ’02 NCDA Representative
Ms. Courtney Thornton NC State CALS Student Class of ’19 Student Representative
Mr. Chad Tyson NC State CALS Student Class of ’20 Student Representative
Mr. Matthew Williams NC State Alumni Association Coordinator of Constituency Groups Class of ’14 NC State Alumni Association Advisor